The Vietnam War: A Film by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick



Product Code: CE7943
UPC: 841887040143
ISBN: 9781531708399
Grade Level: Adult
Media Type: 10 DVD

Product Description

The Vietnam War: A Film by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick Ken Burns and Lynn Novick’s ten-part, 18-hour documentary series, THE VIETNAM WAR, tells the epic story of one of the most consequential, divisive, and controversial events in American history as it has never before been told on film. Visceral and immersive, the series explores the human dimensions of the war through revelatory testimony of nearly 80 witnesses from all sides – Americans who fought in the war and others who opposed it, as well as combatants and civilians from North and South Vietnam. Ten years in the making, the series includes rarely seen, digitally re-mastered archival footage from sources around the globe, photographs taken by some of the most celebrated photojournalists of the 20th Century, historic television broadcasts, evocative home movies, and secret audio recordings from inside the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon administrations. THE VIETNAM WAR features more than 100 iconic musical recordings from the greatest artists of the era, and haunting original music from Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross as well as the Silk Road Ensemble featuring Yo-Yo Ma. Special Features The Making of The Vietnam War Additional outtakes: The March Down the Ho Chi Minh Trail An American Woman in a War Zone Delivering Bad News Hero Pilot of North Vietnam Tigers, Elephants and Helicopters For No Reason at All Fellow Warriors Vietnam, Iraq, Afghanistan A Vietnam War Deserter in a West Point Classroom Facing the Draft Board Behind the Lines at Long Binh Captured Spy and an American Interrogator Episodes Episode 1: Déjà vu (1858-1961) Episode 2: Riding the Tiger (1961-1963) Episode 3: The River Styx January (1964 – December 1965) Episode 4: Resolve (January 1966 – June 1967) Episode 5: This Is What We Do (July 1967 – December 1967) Episode 6: Things Fall Apart (January 1968 – July 1968) Episode 7: The Veneer of Civilization (June 1968 – May 1969) Episode 8: The History of the World (April 1969 – May 1970) Episode 9: A Disrespectful Loyalty (May 1970 – March 1973) Episode 10: The Weight of Memory (March 1973 – Onward)

Additional Information

Run Time:  1003
Copyright: 2017
Rating: TV-MA
Studio: PBS