American Masters: Amy Tan-Unintended Memoir



Product Code: CE8216
UPC: 841887045643
ISBN: 9781531713898
Grade Level: 9+
Media Type: DVD

Product Description

In 1989, Amy Tan’s first novel, The Joy Luck Club, was published to great commercial and critical success. With the blockbuster film adaption that followed as well as additional novels, a libretto, short stories and memoirs, Ms. Tan has firmly established herself as one of the most prominent and respected American literary voices working today. Born to Chinese immigrant parents into 1950’s America, it would be decades before Ms. Tan would come to fully understand how her mother’s self-destructive tendencies were rooted in watching her own mother kill herself after being forced into the former marital system of concubinage. This painful family legacy inspired her stories of women without the power to choose their lives. An interweaving of archival imagery, artful animation and live performance from Ms. Tan form the basis for this documentary that allows the audience to journey through Ms. Tan’s life and career in vivid, living colors.

Additional Information

Run Time: 100
Copyright: 2021
Rating: TV-PG
Studio: PBS